The 8th ISA is co-hosted by "The 15th JBS Bio-Frontier Symposium"

May 29 (Mon) - June 1 (Thu), 2017
Nara Kasugano International Forum 甍 IRAKA
101 Kasugano, Nara 630-8212, Japan
Welcome Remarks
WELCOME to the site of the 8th International Symposium on Autophagy (ISA)!

Mark your calendar from May 29 to June 1, 2017 and join us at the 8th ISA in Nara, Japan.

The ISA is one of the most prestigious international meetings in the autophagy field. The first ISA was organized by Dr. Yoshinori Ohsumi (the 2016 Nobel Laureate in Physiology or Medicine) in 1997. Since then, there has been tremendous progress in the field, and now autophagy research is consistently among hot topics in scientific research field. At the 8th ISA, we will cover a broad range of topics from basic biology to disease-related science. We are expecting more than 300 participants to attend. Particularly, young scientists are encouraged to attend the 8th ISA with fresh data!

The venue is located in the center of Nara Park abundant in historical atmosphere. Nara was, in fact, the capital of Japan from 710 to 784 and is an even older capital than Kyoto. The auditorium that we will use is a real "Noh" theater (the main photo above). We believe that you can not only enjoy high-quality science with fruitful discussion but also experience Japanese culture at this ancient capital.

We all look forward to seeing you in Nara!

Chair: Noboru Mizushima
The University of Tokyo, Japan

Contact Information
Hayashi Yamamoto, Ph.D.(Secretary General)
Noriko Fujiwara
The University of Tokyo, Japan
7-3-1 Hongo, Bunkyo-ku, Tokyo 113-0033, Japan
E-mail: isa2017(at)
KAKENHI, Grant-in-Aid for Scientific Research
on Innovative Areas, “Multidisciplinary research
on autophagy: from molecular mechanisms to
disease states" by JSPS

The Federation of Pharmaceutical Manufactures’ Association of Japan

Cell Signaling Technology Japan, K.K.
Novus Biologicals, a Bio-Techne Brand
Cosmo Bio Co., Ltd.
Ajinomoto Co., Inc.
Funakoshi Co., Ltd.
Olympus Corporation
Medical and Biological Laboratories Co., Ltd.
Kirin Company, Limited

Important Deadlines

  • Registration Opens
    December 1, 2016
  • Deadline for Registration
     (closed when the registration limit is reached)
    April 21, 2017
    The registration is now closed because the limit
    on the number of participants has been reached
  • Deadline for Abstract Submission
     (Consideration for Short Talk)
    February 24, 2017
  • Deadline for Abstract Submission
     (Poster Consideration Only)
    March 31, 2017

Confirmed Speakers

  • Andrea Ballabio (Italy)
  • Francesco Cecconi (Italy)
  • Ana Maria Cuervo (USA)
  • Jayanta Debnath (USA)
  • Vojo Deretic (USA)
  • Ivan Dikic (Germany)
  • Zvulun Elazar (Israel)
  • Jun-Lin Guan (USA)
  • Gábor Juhász (Hungary)
  • Masaaki Komatsu (Japan)
  • Nicholas Ktistakis (UK)
  • Beth Levine (USA)
  • Atsushi Miyawaki (Japan)
  • Christian Münz (Switzerland)
  • Ralph A. Nixon (USA)
  • Felix Randow (UK)
  • Fulvio Reggiori (Netherlands)
  • David Rubinsztein (UK)
  • Kevin M. Ryan (UK)
  • Anne Simonsen (Norway)
  • Suresh Subramani (USA)
  • Andrew M. Thorburn (USA)
  • Sharon A. Tooze (UK)
  • Herbert W. Virgin (USA)
  • Eileen P. White (USA)
  • Tamotsu Yoshimori (Japan)
  • Li Yu (China)
  • Zhenyu Yue (USA)
  • Hong Zhang (China)
  • Qing Zhong (USA)